B-Boy Limping


Here is a creepy picture of Charlyne Yi
July 15, 2010, 8:24 am
Filed under: Comedy, New York


The guy on the right is on to me.

It was last night at the Upright Citizens Brigade theater, the first of two Wednesdays where she’s testing out her show “A Little Time With Charlyne Yi” before taking it to the Edinburgh Comedy festival next month.

Look! Look how short her hair is! It’s cute! That’s all I wanted to show you. A few months ago she shaved it off on stage while singing “Nothing Compares 2 U.” She told the Voice that she’s wearing a lot more dresses now because with her hair short people think she’s a little boy.

[That totally happened to me in eighth grade, you guys. But instead of correcting people I went with it. No more eighth grade glass ceiling! It was rad.

Then people figured it out and it was back to square one.]

Anyway…


This one is arty.

…I don’t want to give away too much from the show, but she told some jokes, did a little magic, played a little bit of guitar, piano, and even the harp. And she had her friend, the one in the top picture whose name I can’t remember (Josh?) play some clarinet and sexy solo saxophone.

I wanted to check the show out because her movie Paper Heart was just a little too twee for me (even though it was pointed out to me that I was bawling at the end. BOY PROBLEMZZZZ), but I like Charlyne and wanted to see her on stage. It was worth it: she’s riveting, and actually takes you on a bit of an emotional rollercoaster. But no crying happened this time! I think I’m oversharing!

Here she is from the front. You didn’t get this before b/c all my shots were blurry like this:

I woulda gotten you guys a better pic, but I was too shy to ask. So I guess I’ll remain the girl that takes creepy pictures.

Watch your butts.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

