B-Boy Limping


ida in mind
March 1, 2009, 9:24 am
Filed under: Music | Tags: , ,

It’s snowing (sort of) this morning, which is appropriate because I’m trying to come up with something to write about Ida, who Sasha and I went to see at Joe’s Pub last night. Sasha put a song of theirs on a mix for me a long time ago and, while I didn’t feel the need to pursue anything else in their repertoire, the song, “Man in Mind,” resonated. They’ve been around since the early 1990s and the core of the prolific band is a married Brooklynite couple, Daniel Littleton and Elizabeth Mitchell. That’s sweet. Because, while the age and demeanor of the musicians made me feel like I had fast-forwarded about twenty years in my life and was out to listen to some “nice music” on a big (and placid) night out with my friend, I should only be so lucky that far in the future to still be doing what I love with someone that I love. Or can at least tolerate.

Anyway, the hint of snow this morning is fitting because Ida’s crisp aural harmony is the kind of music best paired with a morning blanketed in white, when the world is still and void of any other noise.

Also, I had a dream about a blizzard last night. Weird.

idajoepub2

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You are such a good writer.

Comment by Sister Stache

Listen to Shoe-In. I’m also gonna send you a Secret Stars album. I think you’d like them better. Less pretty, but still good for snowy days.

Comment by effyouitsmagic




Leave a Reply

